In just a little while...

05/02/2022

It's hard to believe I've been living in South Africa for over three years. As my lack of blog posts suggest: it's been quite a journey! - Challenging and demanding,  yet rich and fulfilling. Testing and pressing, yet humbling and refining.  Confusing and surprising, yet revealing and beyond imagination.  Heart-breaking yet utterly beautiful... and completely life-changing in every way.

Our God loves us too much to leave us the way we are. 


After class teaching and leading the Foundation Phase in LIV School for a year, I recognised the individual needs and demands of each and every child, and felt God highlighting a call and desire to 'go after the one'. I transitioned into the role of 'Learning Support Teacher' within the therapy team, offering one-to-one intervention lessons as well as lots of focussed attention and care.


This (along with COVID) led to home-schooling a very special boy whose academic and emotional needs required an alternative educational plan. 

We learned and grew together, with many bumps along the way. 'S' and I developed a bond and he has a very special place in my heart. I marvel at what the Lord is doing in his life and I have the greatest privilege of being a part of his story. 

"God Doesn't Call the Qualified; He Qualifies the Called"             (see 1 Corinthians 2:1-5)

 I couldn't have imagined my teaching experience would lead to a complete change of role in January 2021. Having journeyed closely with our children in the classroom and the homes, I gained valuable insight into the impact of trauma and the importance of a holistic approach to healing and restoration. I felt God was opening a new door.  

Thankfully 'God Doesn't Call the Qualified; He Qualifies the Called'. With little worldly accreditation but a growing heart knowledge and first-hand experience, I humbly accepted the position of Head of Department for Therapy. 

This came with many challenges and triumphs. I had the privilege of working alongside a team of wonderful therapists who I learned so much from and who have become dear friends.




At the end of 2021, after a very challenging stretch and without seeing family for two years, I decided to go back to the UK for some rest and recovery. I thought a few weeks would do it, but God had other plans...

© 2019 Lizzie Barrett 
Powered by Webnode
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started